Pages

Swing & Hank

Swing & Hank
Swing (L), Hank (R)

January 12, 2014

The big chill (and the thaw that followed) ...

Did everyone make it through the frigid temps that blew in to the area last week?  I like the cold, especially if it involves snowfall, but I do not groove on biting winds.  For a good day there we had winds that made it feel like your face was freezing within a couple of minutes of venturing outside.  At least the sun was out last Tuesday when the coldest temps hit Central PA, so on my walk to and from the gym I found it bearable if the sun was beating down on my face.  As the temperature started to rise  a couple of fronts moved through and we had two days of snow which made for interesting travel in to the office.  My kind of weather, snow on the ground and temps in the 20's.  And then this weekend happened.  I think I've mentioned this before but I'll take the opportunity to say it again.  I REALLY dislike mud and specifically, I despise it when the mud is in the back yard.  I have a bank about 15 feet from the back porch and the only dog that uses the steps is Dirk.  The other two come zooming through the back yard, down the bank and skid onto the back porch.  And since they are generally moving at warp speed, the bank becomes mud (picture the fight scene from McLintock when everyone is sliding down that mud bank to the mud pit below.  And if you want to see what I'm talking about, here is the link to view it http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ifRKu1W1fXQ).  All of the snow that I had, which amounted to close to 2 inches, melted on Saturday and with the rain we had I pretty much had a mess outside the back door.  Yeah, bring back those frigid temps!

Hey Art, I took Swing to a show n go today to see how far along we are with getting ready to enter Beginner Novice.  I was very pleased with her offlead work (not needed in BN though), sit for exam and her recall.  I'm sure Milo is a lot further along than she is, I'm embarrassed to say that she can not stay in a down for more than 3 seconds!  She has a tendency to crab while heeling, something we are working on, but her enthusiasm and drive is awesome!  Next time I'll get a video of her to post.  Any new news on what you and Milo are doing?

Ann contacted me and said that she was going to send an update on Ella and what she's been up to.  Now that I've put it out there Ann you are on notice!  Unfortunately I haven't seen brother Beau/Hank in a while.  Training with Howard has taken a back seat to the weather and baby Leo.  I was told that Howard would be scaling back on his judging assignments this year so hopefully we'll see Hank in the agility ring at some point.   And of course we can not forget baby sister Gracie Dot.  Deb, in case you didn't know, the Weimaraner National Specialty will be in your neck of the woods in 2015.  Wouldn't it be great to have a family reunion of sorts?

It's time for some new pictures and hopefully I'll get a chance to work with my new camera in the next few weeks.  Those of you on Facebook have seen some recent ones of my little girl hogging the recliner or enjoying the sunbeam with her "boys".  I'd love to have some shots of your M&M pup so please send them my way.  It makes these posts so much more colorful and interesting.

Happy New Year everyone!